Caesar Salad Dressing

FullSizeRender.jpg-1

Recipe card at the bottom of post!

One of my all time favorite salads is caesar! I love it with grilled chicken, shrimp, or just plain! I am one of those people, though, who is somewhere in the middle of the american creamy version and the authentic vinegar based one. I always appreciate ones made with anchovies, and if they scare  you, TRY THIS RECIPE! It turns out creamy and delicious, but still has a tang from the lemon and vinegar. Here’s my method:

Ingredients:

1 cup mayo – good quality or homemade

3/4 cup parmesan, shaved or grated

3 cloves of garlic, rough mince

1 tps anchovy, from a can (OR anchovy paste from a tube)

1 lemon, juiced

1 1/2 tsp dijon mustard

1 tsp Worcestershire

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp ground black pepper

To Make Salad:

Romaine and green leaf lettuce

Croutons

FullSizeRender.jpg-2.jpeg

This recipe is really easy, and has amazing flavor! I do, however, like to make my own mayo. Ever since I started doing paleo-ish, I pay attention to labels on things. Mayo is one of the things that has all sorts of ingredients that are not necessary. I use a great recipe that comes out perfect every time, with minimal effort! I will post that this coming week. If you don’t make mayo homemade, feel free to use a good quality mayo – for store-bought I prefer the flavor of Hellmann’s the most.

Add all ingredients into a food processor.

FullSizeRender.jpg-1.jpeg

Process until smooth (There will still be some texture to the dressing – this is the pieces of yummy parmesan). Here is what it should look like:

FullSizeRender.jpg.jpeg

It should be thick and creamy, and full of flavor! I can almost guarantee if you are a caesar lover you won’t ever buy a bottled caesar again! We made caesar salads topped with grilled shrimp tonight, and it was a huge hit!!

FullSizeRender.jpg-1.jpeg

Screen Shot 2017-03-11 at 1.11.07 PM.png

 

 

Leave a Reply

