Pineapple Stuffed Chorizo Burgers – Inspired by PaleOMG

Recipe cards at bottom of post

When I did my first month of paleo a few years ago, I was desperate to find delicious recipes that were more than just meat and veggies. I stumbled on PaleOMG.com and fell in love with a TON of her recipes. This was one of our all time favorites, and while mine is not exactly like hers, this is where I got my inspiration. Here is my method:

Ingredients for the Burgers:

1 lb ground beef *see note later

1 lb fresh chorizo, removed from casing (not the softer Mexican style chorizo you find in Texas, more of the fresh sausage style)

1 cup pineapple sliced thin

Ingredients for the Guacamole / Avocado Salsa:

1 avocado

1 roma tomato

2 tbs red onion, diced

Handful of cilantro, chopped

1/2 jalapeno, seeds and ribs removed if  desired, diced tiny

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp salt, or to taste

1/2 tsp pepper, or to taste

Pinch chili flakes, optional

Lime wedge

Garnishes, Optional:

1 sweet potato, cut into 1/4 in disks, roasted with salt and olive oil util soft

Salad greens

Paleo ranch dressing, recipe is on this post

Additional cilantro

Sliced tomato

Red onion, sliced thin

**LETS talk ground beef. I like to always grind my own. I feel like I can control the fat content as well as how course the grind is. I know which cuts of meat are in it at all times – and the quality. One of my must have tools for this is a Kitchen Aid mixer and the grinder attachment.

fullsizerender-jpg-22

My recipe I loosely follow is 3 lbs lean beef roast, and 1 lb package of bacon. I alternate the bacon and the lean beef in the grinder. This yields a juicy flavorful burger meat you can use for whatever you’d like.

fullsizerender-jpg-25-2

This brings me to my next must have kitchen tool, the FoodSaver:

This tool helps me save meat and other foods perfectly in the freezer for later use – no more throwing out freezer burned foods!!

For this recipe, I use 1 lb out of the 4 lbs I grind, and freeze the rest for later.

To start this recipe, take the thin sliced pineapple and grill it until golden brown.

This step is not mandatory, however I will say that it creates a depth of flavot that REALLY adds to the dish. If you don’t have a grill, broiling the pineapple in the oven also works and tastes great!

Place the beef and chorizo into a bowl, and mix together.

fullsizerender-jpg-15

fullsizerender-jpg-11

Once mixed well, portion out into 6 balls (I think mine were around 5 1/2 oz because I was a tiny bit short with the beef).

fullsizerender-jpg-12

To make the burger patty, grab one of the balls and split in half. Place the first half down in a plastic wrap lined ramekin and press down. Take a pile of the grilled pineapple and place it in the center of the patty.

fullsizerender-jpg-14

Top with the other half of the meat and press down around the edges. Press firmly down on the patty to help it take shape. Remove the plastic wrap and repeat with the other 5 patties.

fullsizerender-jpg-18

Cover patties while you prep the other inredients.

To make the guacamole / avocado salsa, place avocado into the bottom of a bowl and mash. Once you have mashed the avocado a bit, add in all other ingredients – except the lime – and combine.

fullsizerender-jpg-16

Once it is well combined squirt the lime over the top of the guac, wrap in plastic wrap, and keep chilled.

fullsizerender-jpg-20

Grill patties for around 6 minutes on each side. If you cut one open and it looks underdone in the middle, continue cooking for an additional 2 minutes per side.

To asseble the ‘burger’, place salad greens onto a plate. Top with paleo ranch (recipe found here) and roasted sweet potatoes. Place the burger on the sweet potatoes and top with guac, tomatoes, red onions, and cilantro.

fullsizerender-jpg-19

This recipe has a great presentation, and also packs a punch flavor wise! So good!

fullsizerender-jpg-21

Screen Shot 2017-02-24 at 5.48.25 PM.png

Screen Shot 2017-02-25 at 12.32.29 PM.png

Leave a Reply

