Paleo-ish Taco Salad with ‘Ranch’

When taking on the paleo diet, taco salad is one of my favorite go-to dishes. It is an easy meal to grab out of the fridge for lunch when you don’t feel like cooking – again. (I have to say that is one of my favorite and least favorite parts of trying to eat clean, the never ending cooking just to clean, then cooking again, and then cleaning to cook one more time). Sometimes it can feel overwhelming and exhausting, even though I love to cook! Later in the week I am going to work on more meal prepping recipes, to make lunches and quick dinners easier. Anyways, back to the salad! Salad for me has always been about a great dressing. This paleo compliant ranch recipe that has been floating around the internet for a while is a definite winner!

fullsizerender-jpg-60

It is delicious, and can be used on anything! Here was my simple lunch on day one – since I didn’t want to cook after shopping:

fullsizerender-jpg-61

Here is the recipe I used to for the ranch:

1 egg, room temperature

1 cup light tasting olive oil

small handful fresh cilantro (if you hate cilantro, double the dill, or pick a different herb – BUT the cilantro is delicious in this, and doesn’t taste too cilantro-y)

small handful fresh dill

1 tbs lemon juice

2 tbs red wine vinegar

1 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

1 tsp onion powder

1 tsp garlic powder

1/2 cup full fat coconut milk

Method:

Super easy, and totally foolproof! Combine all ingredients in a good blender (or, like I did, use an immersion blender) and blend until smooth and starts looking creamy and a tad thicker. To ensure success, make sure all of your ingredients are the same temperature – room temp. Yum!

Next, for the taco meat, I ground lean beef myself, and add in about a half lb of bacon – this is why I sort of said paleo-ish, because I’m sure Tyson bacon probably had sugar in the curing process. But for now – I am not worried about that.

fullsizerender-jpg-52

fullsizerender-jpg-53

Next up, brown the meat. Once the meat is browned, throw in a half of a large onion, diced, as well as a few slices of jalapeño.

fullsizerender-jpg-54

Cook until the onions and peppers are soft. Next, I added in spices: chili seasoning, cumin, paprika, red pepper, onion powder, salt, and garlic powder. You can always use your favorite taco seasoning, however if you are strict paleo look at the label to make sure all of the ingredients are compliant.

To garnish my salad, I added: diced organic rainbow carrots, diced tomatoes, sliced red onion, fresh cilantro, and sliced jalapeños. Drizzle with your homemade ranch and dig in! So good, and easy make ahead meal.

xo

fullsizerender-jpg-51

Leave a Reply

