Chili Lime Grilled Pork Chop with Asian Carrot Ginger Salad – Paleo Compliant

Recipe cards for the marinade and the dressing at the bottom of post.

I have used this ‘green’ marinade in a previous post for Chili Lime Drumsticks (adapted from NomNomPaleo) and it was AMAZING. When I made it the first time, I knew it was good as a dressing or marinade, and that it would be delicious on more than just chicken. As long as you check you labels, this marinade is paleo and Whole 30 compliant. Here is what I did today, and it may very slightly from the last time:

  • ½ medium onion, roughly chopped
  • 2 jalapeno peppers (or 1 serrano pepper), ribs and seeds removed
  • 3 garlic cloves, peeled
  • ½ cup cilantro, tightly packed
  • Freshly ground pepper
  • ¼ cup lime juice
  • 1 tablespoons Paleo-friendly fish sauce
  • 3 tablespoons coconut aminos (I used soy sauce instead, because I am paleo-ish)

I DID use the fish sauce this time, and it definitely enhanced the flavor (or as Nom Nom Paleo says, added umami). You literally throw it all in the blender until smooth. Delish. I then slathered a little onto some pork chops, and threw them into the refrigerator to marinade. Store the remaining marinade in the fridge. I do usually prick my meat with a fork while its in the marinade just so the flavors can penetrate the inside of the meat.

fullsizerender-jpg-56

Next, prep the dressing for the salad. This salad is inspired by the house dressing at my favorite (and only) sushi / Japanese restaurant on the island. I would say this is VERY close to what theirs tastes like. Heres how to make the dressing:

fullsizerender-jpg-47

Ingredients:

1/2 lb carrots, roughly chopped

1/4 cup chopped peeled fresh ginger

1/4 cup chopped onion

1/4 cup rice vinegar

2 tbs soy sauce (not paleo – omit and use coconut aminos if wanting to be 100% compliant)

1 tbs Asian sesame oil

1 tsp organic agave syrup

1/2 cup light olive oil

1/4 cup water

salt to taste, if desiredfullsizerender-jpg-45

Add all ingredients except the water into a blender. Blend until it is thick, but no distinguishable pieces of carrot or ginger remain.

fullsizerender-jpg-44

Open blender, and add water to desired texture. Here is what it should look like:

I ended up added the whole 1/4 cup water. I generally keep all of my empty containers, in this case it was a rinsed soy sauce bottle, and I pour my homemade dressings and marinades into them to store in the fridge.

fullsizerender-jpg-42

After the pork has marinated a while, discard pork-y marinade and cook to your preference. I used the grill, and it turned out great! To serve, slice the pork and plate it next to a big pile of greens. Spoon  some of your reserved chili lime marinade from the fridge over the cooked pork. To garnish the salad I added sliced organic rainbow carrots, red onions, sliced fresno chili peppers, cilantro, my carrot ginger dressing, and some sliced cucumber. This, you guys, is buy far one of my favorite clean meals I have ever made. It is so good, and fairly easy if you plan ahead and have your dressing and marinade prepped. Try it!

fullsizerender-jpg-55

amazing-chili-lime-marinadescreen-shot-2017-02-25-at-2-46-33-pm

Leave a Reply

