Instant Pot 15 Bean Soup with Home Smoked Salt Pork

Recipe card at the bottom of post.

Let me just start by saying that not ALL of my recipes will use the Instant Pot. It is, however, a new gadget for me – so I have been really excited to try to adapt recipes for it. It is working amazingly, and I love the slow-cooked taste the pot gives in only a fraction of the time. Feel free to adapt this recipe for whatever kitchen tool you have or feel more comfortable with; stock pot or crock pot! Today on the menu – Instant Pot 15 bean soup with home smoked salt pork. For those who do not know, salt pork is salt cured pork belly or sides (similar to bacon, but usually a bit more fatty) and comes unsmoked unlike bacon. I bought two squares of it (Probably a 1/2 lb each) and smoked it here to prepare for this dish. I smoked the salt pork at 210 using apple wood chips for about 2 1/2 hours. Before smoking it basically looks like a slab of uncooked uncut bacon, after smoking it should look something like this:

fullsizerender-jpg-25

After the salt pork was smoked, cut it into long yet bite sized pieces and vacuum sealed them to use later for this soup. One thing that is really cool about the Instant Pot, is its ability to cook dried beans – start to finish – in under an hour. I did still do a quick soak on the beans, only while I was prepping the other ingredients. While some still recommend soaking all night, with how tender my results were, I do not really find it necessary. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

1 lb smoked meat of choice (ham, ham hock, bacon, or salt pork are all good choices for this recipe)

1 (1lb 4 oz) package 15 bean soup dried beans, discard flavor packet

3 cups water

4 cups chicken stock

2 tbs butter

1 cup carrot, chopped

1 cup celery, chopped

1 cup onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, sliced

1 can diced tomatoes (I used seasoned)

1 tsp oregano

1 tsp granulated garlic

1 tsp ground black pepper

1 tsp Italian seasoning

fullsizerender-jpg-5

To start, boiled water in a small stock pot. I then removed the pot from the heat and tired in rinsed beans. I covered the pot and then began working on my other ingredients. I added the diced salt pork to the bottom of the Instant Pot with two tablespoons of butter, just enough to get the drippings going, and turned on the sauté button. Once the meat was browning, I added in the spice mix and stirred.

fullsizerender-jpg-6

Once the spices started to become fragrant, I added in the minced garlic, onions, carrots, and celery to the pot.

fullsizerender-jpg-3

fullsizerender-jpg-9

After the veggies start to become a bit soft, I dumped in the can of tomatoes (undrained), water, and chicken broth. Then rinse the beans after the quick soak and dump them in the pot. *My beans only soaked for about 30 minutes while I was prepping all the other ingredients. This is what it should look like with all ingredients added:

I then fastened the instant pot lid, hit cancel to stop the sauté function, and pressed the bean button.

This automatically sets the Instant Pot for 40 minutes under high pressure. Then walk away! Once the pot comes to pressure, it will start to count down the time. Once the 20 minutes is done the Instant Pot will beep and turn on the keep warm function. You have the option to let the pressure release naturally (Natural Pressure Release, NPR) – OR to do the quick release(QR). I did a combination of both. After the pot was done cooking, I let it NPR for 10 minutes, and then QR the rest of the steam.

fullsizerender-jpg-23

What you will find when you open the pot is thick, smoky, too-good-not-to-be-slow-cooked bean soup. Like always, most of my recipes are really easy to change ingredients to what you have on hand. Try this soup and you won’t be disappointed!

fullsizerender-jpg-11

Instant Pot 15 Bean Soup with Home Smoked Salt Pork.png

Leave a Reply

