Mississippi Style Venison Roast in the Instant Pot

Recipe card at the bottom of post!

Can I preface this by saying I generally try to steer clear of pre packaged seasoning packets. That being said, after trying this recipe in the crock pot years ago, I knew that it would be a family favorite! I have used a deer ball roast in this recipe. In future post next deer season, I would like to have a few blog post dedicated to how to break down some of my favorite game meats. If you do not have access to deer roast, subbing a lean beef roast would be a perfect equivalent! I usually make this in the crock pot – and it always comes out AMAZING – but this time I tried it in the Instant Pot. It turned out even better, if that is possible! Here is my method:

img_3560-jpg

Ingredients:

About 2 ½ lb deer roast, quartered (I wished I had added even more meat, because it cooked so well. Feel free to uses these measurements as guidelines and make it your own!)

1 packet Au Jus Gravy

1 packet Hidden Valley Ranch dry mix

1 large onion

4 stalks celery (plus the center leafy parts)

2 cups baby carrots, halved

3 medium potatoes

1 stick butter

½ cup chicken stock

5 whole pepperoncinis (I add even more sliced, because we love the flavor)

¼ cup juice from pepperoncini jar

¼ cup water

img_3560-jpg

fullsizerender-jpg-11

Can we just pause for a second – and appreciate the stock that I am going to use for this recipe. If you haven’t seen the recipe I did for the Chili Lime Drumsticks yet, I had added 2 cups of WATER to the bottom of the Instant Pot to cook them (the pot needs a minimum 1C water to build enough steam to pressure cook), and the broth that came out was beautiful and rich looking! When I pulled it out to add a cup to this recipe, the stock was completely gelatinous – a sign of a rich and very  nutritious stock! I was amazed:

If you don’t have homemade stock on hand, water or store bought stock / broth will work just fine.

I start this recipe by adding 1/2 of the onion (cut into quarters) into the bottom of the instant pot *** I am using an 8qt Instant Pot – adjust if this recipe fills up more than the recommended 1/2 fill level in your smaller Instant Pot. I then added 1 cup stock, 1/4 cup water, and 1/4 cup pepperoncini juice to the bottom. I then added the quartered deer on top of the onion and stock mix.

Next, on top of the deer meet, sprinkle the Au Jus packet and ranch packet evenly into the pot. Lay 1/2 of the stick of butter sliced on top of the meat. Add the pepperoncini to the pot.

I then closed up the Instant Pot, hit the manual button, and increased the time to 30 minutes. Make sure your steam valve is set to ‘seal’ and not ‘vent’. If the valve is set on vent it will no be able to come to pressure.

After 10 seconds, the pot will come on automatically and start cooking. Once the timer goes off, you can either let the pressure release naturally for 15 mins, or (using EXTREME caution) hit the steam release valve open for a quick release. I did the quick release. After the pot releases all the pressure, I hit the off / cancel button to cancel the keep warm function. Heres what the first cool looks like:

img_3578-jpg

Next, I pulled the meat, onion, and peppers out, added the rest of the fresh chopped veggies, added the meat and veg back to the pot:

img_3577-png

& topped with the remaining butter.

I resealed the pot, and then pressed manual for 20 minutes. After the last 20 minutes, the roast and veggies were all so tender and juicy – and the drippings / broth left over were just as amazing!

Over all – I would say this was just as good (IF not better) than when I make it in the crock pot. It makes a bunch, and is DelishUS!!

fullsizerender-jpg-8

Screen Shot 2017-02-25 at 3.22.36 PM.png

Leave a Reply

