Amazing Instant Pot Chili Lime Drumsticks – Adapted from Nom Nom Paleo

RUN – don’t walk to get an Instant Pot! I have recently discovered the game changing Instant Pot (No, I am not paid to promote it, however I HAVE come to love it!). I am a huge fan of meals that are cooked low and slow to develop the most flavor possible. This machine does this in a fraction of the time! I purchased the 8qt version of the Instant Pot, mainly because I do like to make enough to have leftovers and even to freeze for future meals.

I have made a couple of things with my pot already, and even though I personally am very glad I went with the larger size, the 6 qt size has rave reviews also!

This thing steams, slow cooks, pressure cooks, sautés, and more! A lot of blogs and websites boast about the ease of having a (most of the time) one dish meal – all done in the Instant Pot. I, on the other hand, have come to find that I love the moistness and tenderness the Instant Pot provides, but often like to broil, flash grill, or even pre-smoke some of my meats to add the the deliciousness of the dish.

Onto the food! This recipe was adapted from Nom Nom Paleo’s:

WHOLE30 DAY 28: CHILE LIME CHICKEN WINGS

And can I just say – it’s AMAZING! I adapted the recipe to fit the Instant Pot, and also changed a few ingredients to what I had on hand – nothing drastic though. The recipe originally called for chicken wings, but when you live in Alaska and the barge doesn’t make it in to stock the store – you improvise! My changes are marked with ***. Here is the list of ingredients from Nom Nom Paleo’s website:

  • ½ medium onion, roughly chopped
  • 2 jalapeno peppers (or 1 serrano pepper), ribs and seeds removed
  • 3 garlic cloves, peeled
  • ½ cup cilantro, tightly packed
  • Freshly ground pepper
  • Zest from 2 limes
  • ¼ cup lime juice
  • 2 tablespoons Paleo-friendly fish sauce
  • 2 tablespoons coconut aminos
  • 6 pounds chicken wings and/or drumsticks
  • 1-2 tablespoons melted fat of choice
  • 4 limes, cut into wedges

If made as written by Nom Nom Paleo, this recipe IS Whole 30 and Paleo compliant. Heres the process:

Add the onion, peppers, garlic, cilantro, ground pepper, lime zest, lime juice, fish sauce, and coconut aminos into a blender. Blend until you have a bright green marinade!

***I omitted the fish sauce because I did not have any on hand. I also used regular soy sauce instead of coconut amino because I am not currently doing Whole 30 or Paleo. I doubled the soy to make it 4 tbs total to make up for the lacking fish sauce, plus a splash of seasoned rice vinegar. This marinade is seriously one of the best marinades I have ever tasted. I think I could eat it on salad, breakfast tacos, or ANY other protein imaginable. Great stuff.

Slather your chicken  (or protein of choice) in the marinade and store in the fridge for at least an hour but up to 12 hours. Try not to go beyond 12 hours, the acid in the marinade will start to make the meat mushy – YUCK!

img_3450-jpg

***I saved some of the marinade separate from the chicken, and was glad I did. It was GREAT to have a little extra to slather onto the chicken at the end. I also only marinated it an hour. I wish I would have gone a bit longer.

Nom Nom Paleo states you can bake, or even grill, the wings per preference. Heres what she writes:

“Arrange a rack in the middle of the oven and preheat it to 400°F on convection roast (or 425°F on the regular setting). Line a rimmed baking sheet with foil, and place a wire rack on top. Then, arrange the wings on the greased wire rack, and roast ‘em for 30 minutes (flipping midway) or until the wings turn golden brown.”

***I decided to make these in my new Instant Pot. I placed about 2 cups of water in the bottom of the cooking pot, then placed the included wire trivet down, and then layered in the drumsticks. I closed the lid, hit the manual button, set the time to 25 minutes under high pressure, and then walked away! img_3451-jpg

After the machine beeped – letting me know the cooking time was done – I did a quick steam release. After the steam was done excaping from the pot, I opened the lid to find INCREDIBLY tender and juicy drumsticks. I think I could even cut the time down shorter next time.

img_3455-jpgI then laid the fall-apart-tender drums onto a wire rack onto of a baking sheet. I broiled them for about 7 minutes, until nicely browned.

img_3457-jpgAfter the chicken was done I slathered them again with the reserved green sauce, and served them with “fried” rice (also made in the Instant Pot).

img_3458-jpgThis dish was a GREAT success, and will definitely be in our dinner rotation from now on!

One last little tidbit of information about the Instant Pot. Can I just show you the stock that came out after cooking the chicken with the WATER I put in?!

fullsizerender-jpg-2I did not add any stock to the pot, only the 2 cups of water and the marinated chicken. Still simply amazed. Hope you try and enjoy this recipe as much as I did!

XO

One thought on “Amazing Instant Pot Chili Lime Drumsticks – Adapted from Nom Nom Paleo

Leave a Reply

